Press "Enter" to skip to content

OBITUARY – Mayo

Mrs. Susie Mae (Wood) Mayo, 82, of Hosford, FL, and a former resident of Blountstown, passed away Monday, May 1, 2012, in Tallahassee, FL. Susie was born in Douglas, GA, and had lived in Hosford since 2004, coming from Blountstown. She worked in a cigar factory and Russell’s Sewing Factory for a number of years. She was a member of Corinth Baptist Church in Hosford and a former member of Blountstown Assembly of God Church in Blountstown. Susie was a member of the Older Wiser Leaders (OWL) at Corinth Baptist Church. She truly enjoyed attending Hosford Senior Citizens Association. Susie was preceded in death by her husbands, W.R. Wood and Ransom J. Mayo; daughter, Marie Mayo Dykes; grandson, Danny Langston; and a brother, George Taft. Survivors include two sons, James Mayo and his wife, Lucretia, of Bristol, FL, and Mike Mayo and his wife, Bonnie of Altha, FL; one daughter, Helen Langston, and her husband, Joe, of Hosford; step-brother, Richard Bradford, and his wife, Lynn, of Homerville, GA; two sisters, Carolyn Smith and her husband, Ted, of Homerville, GA, and Linda Griffis and her husband Holloway of Homerville, GA; grandchildren, Steve Langston and his wife, Heidi, David Langston and his wife, Diane, Wayne Mayo, Ricky Mayo, Terry Mayo and Dianne Dykes; great-grandchildren, Alisha Sadler, Kalan Langston and several other great-grandchildren; great-great-grandchildren, Makenna Patton, Gabe Patton and several other great-great-grandchildren. Funeral services will be held Friday, May 4, at 3 pm (EDT)/2 pm (CDT) at Corinth Baptist Church in Hosford with Reverend Kyle Peddie officiating. Interment will follow in Pine Memorial Cemetery in Blountstown. The family will receive friends Friday, May 4, from 2 pm (EDT)/1 pm (CDT) until service time at 3 pm (EDT)/2 PM (CDT) at Corinth Baptist Church in Hosford. All arrangements are under the direction of Marlon Peavy at Peavy Funeral Home in Blountstown (ph. 674-2266).

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.