Press "Enter" to skip to content

OBITUARY – Faircloth

Mr. Archie Faircloth Jr., 73, of Bristol and a former resident of Blountstown passed away Thursday, February 23, 2012 at his home. Archie was born on July 29, 1938, in Liberty County and had lived in Liberty and Calhoun Counties all of his life. Archie worked for the Blountstown Police Department from 1970 until his retirement in 2000. He served as Mayor of Blountstown from 2000 to 2004. Archie was a member of Dixie Lodge #109 F&AM where he served as past master. He served in the United States Navy and was a member of Gateway Baptist Church in Blountstown. Survivors include his wife of 52 years, Myrtice Faircloth of Bristol; two sons, Joe Faircloth and Archie Faircloth III, both of Blountstown; two daughters, Myrtice Elaine Faircloth of Bristol and Julia Allen and her husband, Paul, of Blountstown; two brothers, Roland Faircloth and his wife, Joyce, of Columbus, GA, and Franklin Faircloth and his wife, Glenda, of Blountstown; one sister, Ann Cureton, of Columbus, GA; five grandchildren and one great-grandchild; a daughter-in-law, Rita Herndon, of Marianna; and several nieces and nephews. Funeral services will be held Monday, February 27, at 1 pm (CST)/2 pm (EST) at Gateway Baptist Church in Blountstown with Reverend Roger King and Reverend Rick Stewart officiating. Interment will follow in Nettle Ridge Cemetery in Blountstown. The family will receive friends Sunday, February 26, from 5 pm (CST)/6 pm (EST) until 7 pm (CST)/8 pm (EST) at Peavy Funeral Home. All arrangements are under the direction of Marlon Peavy at Peavy Funeral Home in Blountstown (ph. 674-2266).

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.